Monday, June 25, 2007

Of the original seven wonders of the ancient Greeks, the Great Pyramid of Giza is the only one remaining. The other six on the list are: – the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, – the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, – the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, – the Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus, – the Colossus of Rhodes, and – the Lighthouse of Alexandria.

The New Open World Foundation will announce the results of the New Seven Wonders of the World election on July 7, 2007 (or 07.07.07). The ballot itself will close on midnight the day before. The Foundation proposes a revision of the ancient Seven Wonders of the World, of which only the Great Pyramid of Giza still exist.

Among the 21 candidates left over after the previous election round ended on January 1, 2006, the Acropolis and the Maya archeological site of Chichen Itza were doing well in earlier rankings. A spokeswoman for the Foundation said earlier this month that the result is wide open.

The election ceremony will be held in Lisbon, Portugal. Hollywood actress Hilary Swank, British actor Sir Ben Kingsley and Bollywood actress Bipasha Basu have been announced as hosts, astronaut Neil Armstrong will be present, and performers will include Jennifer Lopez and Chaka Khan.

Retrieved from “”